IMB Centre for Superbug Solutions

 

Professor Matt Cooper

Director

Research area: Drugs and diagnostics for superbugs

Keywords: superbugs; antibiotics; infection; drug discovery, multi-drug resistant bacteria, microbes

Email: m.cooper@uq.edu.au

Professor Matthew Cooper is CEO of Inflazome Ltd. and has an equity interest in the company of which UQ is also a shareholder through its commercialisation company UniQuest Pty. Ltd.

Inflazome Ltd. is a company headquartered in Dublin, Ireland that is developing drugs to address clinical unmet needs in inflammatory disease by targeting the inflammasome.

Professor Cooper also holds a fractional Professorial Research Fellow appointment at the University of Queensland.

The terms of this arrangement have been reviewed and approved by the University of Queensland, in accordance with its conflict of interest policies.

 

Dr Lachlan Coin 

Deputy Director

Research area: Population genomics

Keywords: diagnosis, resistance, bacterial genomics

Email: l.coin@imb.uq.edu.au

 

Professor Ben Hankamer

Investigator

Research area: Algal biomedicines

Keywords: phage, alternatives to antibiotics, enzymes

Email: b.hankamer@imb.uq.edu.au

 

Professor Jenny Martin

Investigator

Research area: Antibiotic discovery, protein structure and drug design

Keywords: bacterial infection; superbugs; antibacterials, alternatives to antibiotics

Email: j.martin@uq.edu.au

 

Associate Professor James Fraser

Investigator

School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences, UQ

Reseach area: Fungal pathogenesis

Email: jafraser@uq.edu.au

 

Professor Philip Hugenholtz

Investigator 

School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences, UQ

Research area: Mirobial diversity, ecology and evolution

Email: p.hugenholtz@uq.edu.au

 

Professor David Paterson

Investigator

UQ Centre for Clinical Research, Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital, and Wesley Medical Research

Reseach area: Molecular and clinical epidemiology of antibiotic resistant infections

Email: d.paterson1@uq.edu.au

 

Professor Mark Schembri

Investigator

School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences, UQ

Research area:  Adhesion and biofilm formation by bacterial pathogens

Email: m.schembri@uq.edu.au